Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

To Minnie’s Readers:

A morning a while ago I couldn’t sleep and woke up with an idea. That idea became this parody of a one-shot New Era’s Lesson on Shipping. I think this short one-shot came to fruitation when I spent all night reading about shipping wars and ship tease on that TV trope page. And because this post is way too short, I’ll have to make room for a couple of my recommendations regarding manga, animes, characters, etc.

Best Recent Female Lead This Year Thus Far Goes To

Sheryl Nome from Macross Frontier

Sheryl Nome from Macross Frontier

I know Macross Frontier has its share of Sheryl and Ranka fans and the flaming wars between them on who gets Alto, that feminine male lead. However, there’s a reason why 70% of fans want Sheryl/Alto and that is because of Sheryl herself. I am not a Ranka hater. I am going to make this EXPLICITLY CLEAR. I like Ranka. She’s adorable and moe. However, my question to you is: how many female leads are there with a similar personality to Ranka? A MILLION. Now, Sheryl is a one-in-a-lifetime heroine and I’m not kidding. I am sometimes a bit harsh on female characters but when I find one I adore, I will adore her to no end. Sheryl will always have a place in my heart, whether or not she gets together with Alto. “I am Sheryl Nome after all”.

Best Recent Male Lead This Year Thus Far Goes To:

Lelouch vi Britannia from Code Geass

Lelouch vi Britannia from Code Geass

I must assert this again and again: Lelouch has been topping every single magazine poll for favorite characters everywhere. There’s a reason why. Because he’s the best male character this year. I cannot deny that I loved Lelouch before I even watched Code Geass, but man, this character is awesome. A lot of people complain that Code Geass has a large cast with few character developments. I agree. But why was all that development thrown out the window? For Lelouch. Lelouch’s story and character growth is the best I’ve seen in anime in a long time. The writers must really love Lelouch because he is the center of everything in Code Geass. Anyways, for always, ALL HAIL LELOUCH!

Best Recent Non-Lead Character This Year Thus Far Goes to:

Shinobu Morita from Honey and Clover

Shinobu Morita from Honey and Clover

Oh Morita… I must give it to him. When my friend recommended Honey and Clover for me to watch, I was skeptical. However, the first episode with Morita won me over completely. He’s not my favorite character from Honey Clover (that goes to Ayu Hamata) but he is the best damn side character I have seen in a while. He’s funny. He’s crazy. He’s out of control! And yet, you can’t help but find him charming and funny. I laugh with him than at him more than once and if Honey and Clover belonged to me, I would make sure he ends up with Ayu but of course, that’s impossible. 😉

Best Opening Song This Year Thus Far Goes To:

Ebullient Future by Elisa from ~ef~ tales of melodies

Ebullient Future by Elisa from ~ef~ tales of melodies

The pictures, the symbolism, and the music= perfect. It’s so catchy, yet so sad and exciting at the same time! A good OP forces the viewer to watch it multiple times, download the song, and watch the anime despite not knowing what it’s about. This is how great this OP is. Though, I must admit that Kuroshitsuji’s Monochrome Kiss and Vampire Knight Guilty’s Rinne ~Rondo~ is high up there on my list as well.

Best Ending Song This Year Thus Far Goes To:

Northen Cross by May/'n from Macross Frontier

Northern Cross by May/'n from Macross Frontier

 Even though I like Diamond Crevasse as a song better, Northern Cross is a better ED from Macross Frontier. Why? Because one, the song is exciting and two, the images are all Sheryl Nome. For those of you who finished Macross Frontier, you must remember that this song started playing at the end of episodes when Sheryl is at her bottom, losing the public to their love for the Moe Blob Ranka. This song signals her rise in the media again and she does it again! With style too~ There are plenty of awesome ED’s to add to this list.

Best New Manga Minnie Read This Year Thus Far:

Bokura ga Ita <3

Bokura ga Ita ❤

 Wow. Just the thought of this manga (I watched the anime first a week ago or so) brought tears to my eyes. The second half of the anime- almost every single episode, I cried. For the manga, I believe every chapter from where the anime left off had brought tears to my eyes. There has never been a manga who knows the REAL side of relationships like this manga. Because I’ve been in relationships before, I can relate to almost everything in this manga (except for the dead girlfriend part). Everything is so true… and so heartbreaking. I feel for the mangaka. She must have been through so many hard relationships to write a work so brilliant.

Best New Anime Minnie Watched This Year Thus Far:

Hakushaku to Yousei

Hakushaku to Yousei

I have low expectations for this anime but so far, it has brought enjoyment and pretty bishies in my direction. Although it’s too soon to tell with only two episodes out, I am anticipating this anime the most out of the bunch for its characters, storyline, and much more. It doesn’t hurt that I adore every single character in this anime so far, especially Lydia, Edgar, and Raven.

Best Old Anime Minnie Watched This Year Thus Far:

Monster

Monster

 Monster is incredible. The characters, the plot, the graphics, the violence, and everything else. I especially like how all the characters are all connected somehow. But I must give credit to Johan. He’s one incredible villain and one who brings shivers to my spine at the thought of him. Monster is one of the top animes, up there with Death Note, Full Metal Alchemist, and Haruhi Suzumiya.

Best New Japanese Artist Minnie Found Thus Far:

Yamashita Tomahisa

Yamashita Tomahisa

I love Yamapi because I based both KT and Kristian Shiratori off him, especially the Kristian lick because of his voice! After I heard his voice in NEWS, I realize that out of the group, his voice stands out the most so what did I do? Find singles by him. His singles I dare say are better than his group songs. I love Gomen ne Juliet (coincidence that Kristian’s crush is on Juliet Heart?) and Daite Senorita a lot. I haven’t been this excited for male singles since Love Juice and Pinky by Jin Akanishi. ~ Loves Yamapi~

Best Korean Drama Minnie Watched This Year Thus Far:

My Girl

My Girl

Besides Full House and Autumn in my Heart, My Girl is my third favorite Korean drama ever. I have yet watch Goong but I will soon enough. But anyways, the reason why My Girl is so much love is because of the funny chemistry between Lee Dong Wook and Lee Da Hae, the uncommon, quirky female character Lee Da Hae plays, Lee Jun Ki (right after his popularity from The King and the Clown too!), and the plot. For all Korean drama lovers, this is a must watch. My mom’s watching it right now actually! Haha.

                -Minnie

