Tags

, , , , , ,

To Minnie’s Readers:

Sunako the heroine~

Sunako the heroine~

Because I just recently finished Yamato Nedeshiko Shichi Henge or The Wallflower, the English title. I must say I watched this on a whim but finished 25 episodes within 2-3 days? That’s pretty impressive for me, considering that most animes take me a week or more. Anyways, if there is a word to describe The Wallflower, it is interesting. I really don’t know what to think of it at this point but since it’s so fresh in my mind, I’ll continue my review…

Plotwise: The story starts off giving me a feeling of a reverse harem anime- a bunch of pretty boys falling for the lead girl. I was pleasantly surprised to find myself NOT in a reverse harem anime, just one with four pretty boys under the names of Kyohei, Takenaga, Yuki, and Ronmaru. Instead of a reverse harem anime, it’s more like Ouran Host Club- the heroine doesn’t seem to have much of an interest in love at this point and is rather interested in other things. The only chemistry is between the two leads- Sunako and Kyohei. As for the plot, it’s also like Ouran in that the plot device that starts up the story (for Ouran, the bill and Wallflower, the becoming lady thing) is ignored for the most part for humor. Overall, I wouldn’t say the plot is the best in the world if there is one in the first place. However, if you have no anime to watch and need something to watch to past the time, this will make you LOL almost every single episode. 😄 

Characters: All four boys are pretty stereotypical. However, like I said to one of my friends, thanks to their quirks- they manage to stand out and become loveable characters overall. However, in comparison to Sunako, they are nothing. Hell, I’m willing to name her the QUEEN of quirks alongside Nodame. I like her for the most part. She was a funny, unique heroine. I guess more like I LOVE her with Kyohei. 😉 But anyways, the other characters are either likeable or funny or both. I didn’t have a problem with any of the characters actually. I don’t think I love any of them, I like Kyohei and Sunako a lot though, together and separate.

Music: The scary music is the best I say. 😄 I don’t like the OP or the ED, although the second ED has a nice tune. Anyways, most of the music when Sunako is being scary is probably my favorite of the Wallpaper soundtrack. I also like that intermission music for some reason. 😄 So, all in all, it was all right.

Overall: The low points of the anime are pretty stereotypical characters, yet hilarious, and odd graphics, which I must say doesn’t really bother me after Episode 3 to be honest. The high points are the jokes are always funny to me for some reason. 😄 The humor is terrific. The amount of characterization and humor are perfect. The only disappointing thing for me was that Sunako and Kyohei never got together but I can live with that. However, I didn’t like the ending- the last episode. It was bleh for me. However, it was over the top entertaining to pull me through the entire way. ^.^

           -Minnie

