Tags

, , , , ,

To Minnie’s Readers,

All hail Elsa!

All hail Elsa, a breakthrough heroine for young girls!

First of all, check out Warau One-Shot: The Other Couple~ It’s been a while since I’ve finished anything but other chapters should be out soon because I’m finally on winter break! Let’s hope I actually work my butt off, writing for you guys! If not, you guys should whine and complain until I do so! There’ll be another Warau Tame Ni one-shot coming out soon as well~ Now with that done with…

If you are like me, you can already imagine a ton of young girls dressing up as Elsa and Anna from Frozen for Halloween next year! I personally wouldn’t mind being Elsa for Halloween. That gorgeous blue dress is to die for! But really, Disney? You’re going to add not one, but TWO Disney princesses to your collection? You guys are quite clever, I give you that. It’s been a day since I watched Frozen and I’m still in awe of how amazing the movie was. I’m sorry, Tangled fans, but I like this better than Tangled. Rapunzel is still my favorite Disney heroine, but Elsa is not far behind her. And I’ll tell you why.

Similar to Hoshino Mizuki from Warau Tame Ni, in Frozen, the Disney audiences are introduced to a Disney princess who is not only mature and sensible, but also tragic and easy to relate to. Her coldness doesn’t put you off- it makes you want to hug her and warm her heart. Right after the movie, I thought my favorite character is either Olaf or Kristoff, but after sleeping on it, Elsa is definitely my favorite. I believe Disney is on to something here. Though I am certain younger girls in my theatre room might enjoy and relate to Elsa’s younger sister, Anna, more, Elsa has an appeal that draws in the majority, if not all of the older members of the audience of both genders. My brother who is a 21-year-old movie critique straight out adores Elsa. Others around my age also agree with him. Heck, how can you not? Look at that character design! And she’s voiced by Idina Menzel. IDINA MENZEL. Is that not enough??

In all seriousness, Elsa represents two symbols. The first, thought of by my brother, is that the town is a symbol of her heart. This symbol is made obvious in Elsa’s solo, Let it Go (the best goddamn Disney song in a long time- I have not stopped putting it on repeat). Elsa sings, “The wind is howling like this swirling storm inside”. The storm inside her turmoil heart and soul is seen physically by the snow freezing her town, as well as the rest of the world. This is why the storm worsens when Elsa decides to isolate herself from the entire world. She doesn’t know how to stop the storm because she still doesn’t know how to stop blaming herself for accidentally hurting her sister and seeing herself as a monster. Come on. This isn’t a typical Disney movie with a cheesy ending and a cliche romance. Frozen is a story about the love of two sisters and how they choose to show it.

The other symbol that Elsa stands for is the imprisoned adult. Because she is born with powers beyond her control, Elsa is forced to wise up beyond her years. Before the incident with Anna, Elsa is a carefree child who builds a snowman with her sister. Her childhood is snatched away from her quickly after that. While she fights against her inner burden, she is locked up in her room beyond the help of her sister, Anna. Elsa is sort of like our parents. Similar to adults who have to make choices not necessarily based on enjoyment but out of necessity, Elsa endures this same ordeal for the majority of the movie. She is afraid, even ashamed, of her powers. She tries her best to hide them. Isn’t it similar to how children loses their creativity as they grow older because it’s not socially acceptable anymore? I won’t spoil the ending, but I can say it is pretty satisfying how they conclude Elsa’s inner battle, which can be at times seen physically through her sister.

Gosh, my fangirling review does not really do Elsa justice. I really do feel for her the most throughout the movie. Yes, you can debate that Anna‘s headstrong self is the type of heroine you should look up to, but I can argue that Elsa’s quiet strong endurance is a powerful message for young girls as well. I believe that there is a lot of merit to being persistent and optimistic and never giving up on your sister. I really enjoy that, too. But it’s been done a million times. From my personal experience, it’s more rare for a children’s movie like this to depict a young woman who chooses to isolate herself and deal with her “monster” alone rather than hurting anyone. Imagine the mental strength that must have taken! The winter storm is only there to help children understand the suffering Elsa must be going through. For adults, we understand enough even without the symbol. I love how this movie teaches us that even when we are thrown into circumstances beyond of our control (magical powers in this case), we can still be strong and rise above it, with the help of our family.

-Minnie

