Tags

, , , , , , ,

To Minnie’s Readers,

Ma-kun and Ken-kun~

Ma-kun and Ken-kun~

I told myself I wouldn’t write about my biased, favorite shoujo male lead anymore because his story for Warau Tame Ni is done, but thanks to this sketch above by my awesome artist partner Gracie, I can’t help but write a couple of more things on Naito Mamoru. This one-shot is not that long and it’s probably not canon either, but this is really for all the Naito Mamoru fans who still yearn for more of him. So yeah, check out WHAT IF SCENARIO PART I! As a bonus, here are a list of actual, published shoujo male leads I love!! A lot of you have asked me numerous times before so yeah, here is my list to please all of you haha~

Sata.Kyouya.full.1360157

5) Kyouya from Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji

No, he’s not on this list because he has so many Lucas Yeung-worthy facial expressions (though it did help him a tiny bit) but because Kyouya is the almost perfect parody of the male shoujo lead I have read. In the beginning, Kyouya demonstrates that he’s not your average jerk with a gold heart stereotype; instead, he twists that trope by being actually sadistic, cunning, and cruel to the typical heroine in Erika. He looks down on girls who fall for guys with a handsome face and takes advantage of the stupidity of shoujo female leads. Unfortunately, probably due to controversy and hate among the fanbase, he ends up with her and now walks down the path of a tsundere instead. So much lost potential or else he would have been higher on this list.

Sohma.Kyo.full.10064

4) Kyo from Fruits Basket

Kyo is the reason I love cats. He’s also the reason why I love shoujo. There are a million copies of him everywhere but none will ever beat the original in my heart… That’s really all that needs to be said ❤ Kyo will probably never be replaced in my list of top shoujo male leads~ Classics can’t be denied!

Heroine.Shikkaku.full.1644552

3) Hiromitsu from Heroine Shikkaku

How my heart moans for Hiromitsu! How the whole HS community moans for him! And I swear it’s not because he’s based off the love of my life, Yamapi! Have you ever met a shoujo male character as smart as Hiromitsu? And I’m not talking about book smart. There are plenty of those around. I’m talking about people smart. This is the type of guy who can get any girl he wants based on how he acts and treats girls. He knows when to give a girl her space, when to be aggressive, when to tease and charm her, etc. This is as realistic as it gets, folks. Hiromitsu-like guys are the charmers of the world and I feel like the mangaka captures it super well. But then, he suddenly falls in love and man, that’s a combination that can’t be beat.

Doumyouji.Tsukasa.600.958800

2) Doumyouji from Hana Yori Dango

Did you know that according to the mangaka Doumyouji wasn’t created with the intention of getting together with Makino Tsukushi? That his character haunted her day and night and she eventually gave into her character’s wish and get them together? That’s how powerful Doumyouji is. If there is a male character in a shoujo series who has loved a girl more than Doumyouji loves Makino, I haven’t read him. Or maybe it’s because I’ve been affected by Meteor Garden’s version of Doumyouji. Whatever is the case, there is no doubt in my mind that the great Doumyouji deserves this spot. Sadly, they don’t make them like they used to. Where are the days when male shoujo leads have to actually work their butts off like Domyouji to prove to your lady that you are capable of loving like you’ve never loved before? Now, it’s all clueless girls chasing after jerks…

Hayama.Akito.full.192075

1) Hayama from Kodomo no Omocha

Is anyone surprised AT ALL by my number one? If you know me well enough, you’ll know that no other shoujo male lead has beaten poker-faced Hayama in my heart. Take all my feels for Domyouji and combine them with sweet + tough personality that Hayama embodies and you can understand exactly why I love this kid. Sometimes, I feel very pedo that I am so attracted to a character who starts off as an elementary school kid. But who cares. It’s freaking Hayama. If someone ever loves me for as long as Hayama to Sena, I’ll be one lucky gal. Hayama is pretty much the high example I set for modern shoujo male leads to reach and sadly, no one has been able to touch the perfect combination of the tragic and romantic hero that Hayama manages. If I am fortunate enough to have a son one day, I want him to be just like Hayama! To act like a man and to love like a fallen hero!

Other notable mentions! (Some cheating because josei…)
Kurosaki from Dengeki Daisy
Ren from Skip Beat
Tomoe from Kamisama Hajimemashita
Ikuto from Shugo Chara
Mui from The Bridge of the Water God
Vivi from Hana to Akuma
Takeo from Ore Monogatari
George from Paradise Kiss
Miyake from Tonari no Atashi
Rei from Mars
Kouichi from Cat Street
Eunsong from He Was Cool
Hyoue from Her Majesty’s Dog
Aoi from Romantica Clock
Hinata from Stardust Wink
Touya from Ashita no Ousama
Yano from Bokura Ga Ita
Otani from Lovely Complex
Ryder from Full House
Haru and Yamaken from Tonari no Kaibutsu
Yanagi from Last Game
Natsume from Natsume Yuujinchou

